Menu Close

2016 DTM at Norisring: Motara Takes the Win For Audi

Motara wins Norisring for Audi in week four of nine week 2016 DTM season – (VIDEO)

The fourth weekend of a nine weekend race season for the 2016 DTM, the Audi Abt Sportsline piloted by Edoardo Motara won the race beating Jamie Green in race one at the Norisring.  We recently saw the awesomeness of these cars in pit stop practice earlier this year.  Norisring 2016 sure did not disappoint.

Starting in sixth place, the Italian moved up to the fourth spot early on before being given the lead just before the half-way mark. Race leaders Christian Vietoris, Robert Wickens and Mattias Ekstrom collided at Turn 2.

Audi Driver Mattias Eckstrom had been looking for an opportunity to pass a slower Robert Wickens into the hairpin. Whle braking too late, the two touched wheels, spinning Christian Vietoris in the process.

Both Wickens and Eckstrom were leading the championship coming into the weekend but were not able to continue as a result of damage to their vehicles. However, Vietoris was able to continue with the race.

With the safety car deployed, Motara took over the lead position holding off advances from fellow Audi Driver Jaime Green to take his second victory of the season.

The results of the race this past weekend, ends Mercedes’ run of 13 wins in a row at Norisring. HWA’s Paul di Resta is the top Mercedes C63 driver holding the third position.

Meanwhile BMW’s trio of Marco Wittman, Bruno Spengler, and Maxime Martin finished in the fourth, fifth and sixth positions. Adrien Tambay made significant progress working his way up from the 15th position to the 7th position.

Maximillian Gotz battled it out with Augusto Farfus throughout the race. His efforts resulted in taking the checkered flag for the eighth position, scoring his first points for the season. Also notable was Antonio Felix da Costa recovering in the 21st position to finish in the ninth position.

Meanwhile polesitter Vietoris dropped to the 10th position with the drop of the checkered flag, with Farfus, Martin Tomczyk, Lucas Auer and Timo Glock up next.

Source:  DTM


Posted in audi, DTM, Motor Sports, RS5 DTM, Uncategorized

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *